Ain’t No Smoggy Smoke On Rocky Top

image

Rocky top you'll always be home sweet home to me!

This is a sight I will never tire of seeing:   thousands of people cheering as one of my favorite college football teams pours out of their locker room to the marching band rendition of “Rocky Top.”  I was able to make it home last weekend to watch the Vols take on Mizzou.  Tennessee was unable to walk away with the “W” but the game was still fun.  I was able to spend time with my brother on his birthday and share a most-precious and coveted piece of my childhood with my boyfriend.  I have talked about the wonders of Neyland Stadium ever since we started dating 2 years ago,  and he was able to experience my descriptions firsthand.  There was beer.  There was Jager.  THERE WAS VOL NATION!  #gbo

I was also finally able to meet my niece,  Charlie.  Seeing her smile made me melt and she is now one of the few people on this Earth who owns a piece of my heart.  Every day is one more closer that I will be able to see her again.  I may need to talk to my brother about seeing up some Skype time…

Back in the big city, Thanksgiving dinner was totes amaze.  Plenty of wine and time with my boyfriend’s family beforehand made the day even better.  He and I arrived with my mother’s recipe for a broccoli cheese casserole.  We were able to pair it with turkey, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, roasted cauliflower with cheese and oil blended sauce, and a soy loaf with apples for one of our vegetarian friends joining us (she and her husband are cousins with Jake and Maggie Gyllenhaal).  I smothered half of it with gravy.  #heavybreathing

I’m thankful for relaxing holidays with family, friends, and sensational food paired with amazing wines.

I’m also thankful for the Mockingjay.  She will lead us.

Leave a Reply

