Merry Christmas. Shitter Was Full!

cousineddie

I love December.  After October, it is my favorite month of the year.  The weather is typically grey and windy with chances of snow here and there.  Work life seems to slow down while everyone is on vacation.  Holiday movies evoking childhood memories flood my DVR.  The annual Doctor Who Christmas Special.  There are usually great new holiday themed food and drinks in which I can indulge.  Homemade fudge.  Mint M&Ms.  Candy canes and Candy Cane Hershey’s Kisses.  And I love all the Christmas decorations; I especially love my Christmas tree under which I place tons of carefully purchased presents for my family all tied up with string.  I plan on staying holly and jolly this season by not overwhelming my social calendar.  I am only allowing up to 2 weeknight activities and only allowing 2 days with activities on the weekend (Fri-Sun).  Last year was too much and I got burnt out quicker than a marshmallow dropped in a campfire.  I think there were about 3-4 weeknight events (including networking and personal) and there was not a single weekend day or night free from November thru December.  Ouch.  This year is all about balance.  And playing the Taylor Swift Christmas album over and over!  Her version of “Last Christmas” is great, and that is also one of my favorite Christmas songs, too!

Taylor-Swift-Christmas-Style

This afternoon when I came home from work, my boyfriend made his great grandfather’s eggnog recipe with rum and brandy.  We have already enjoyed a few small glasses.  We have a few Santas around the house, but we plan to really decorate this weekend when we buy our tree.  After I was about 7 years old or so, my parents quit getting a real tree and we dusted off and transferred our keepsake ornaments to our 7.5″ Pre-Lit Dunhill Fir.  I had to rely on scented candles to give me that fresh balsam scent.  I am glad my boyfriend enjoys a real tree like I do.  We definitely don’t go all Griswold and trek through feet of snow to get one, but we do make it a special event to get ours.  As special as driving over to Home Depot can be!  My boyfriend will put it all together and put the lights on it (the annoying part) and then we will put ornaments on together.  I will be setting up the rest of the house with our knickknacks, whozits, and whatzits.  You want thingamabobs?  I got plenty!  But who cares… no big deal… I want mooooo– oh, wait.  This is not an entry of me singing The Little Mermaid.  Moving on.

Aside from the decorations and scented soaps and candles, movies are a great way to stay in the holiday spirit and make the month of December even better.  Holiday movies I will definitely be watching: Christmas Vacation (THIS is my family tradition movie; every family has one they can quote by heart from beginning to end, frontwards, backwards, sideways, in Hebrew, etc), Christmas Story, Love Actually, Christmas in Connecticut, Meet Me In St. Louis, Muppet Christmas Carol, Scrooged, Home Alone, and Black Christmas (who doesn’t love a slasher flick with inbreeding at a sorority house?)  What does everyone else enjoy?  And I know someone may be thinking Elf.  But I honestly just can’t stand Will Ferrell.  #sorrynotsorry

elf

I am also currently preparing for 2 holiday contests in the upcoming weeks: Ugly Sweater Contest and Holiday Drink Contest.  As I get closer to each one, I plan to blog about them and post some pictures/recipes of products.  My lips.. err… fingers… are sealed for the time being.  As my boyfriend and I won our Halloween costume contest (he was Gertie down to the pigtails and overalls and I was Elliot with my red hooded jacket, Reese’s Pieces, and actual-size ET doll), I believe that we will be able to come up with some award winning results for our next two.

I looked forward to reading blogs and seeing Instagrams full of great things about the month of December!  And I cannot wait to enlist in a Secret Santa because my gift is always the best…

secretsanta

Leave a Reply

